Ultra-chromaticism at the House of Nobility 6.11.2017

Monday 6th of November 2017 at 6 pm
Ritarihuone/The House of Nobility, Ritarikatu 1, Helsinki
Tomas Djupsjöbacka, conductor
Elisa Järvi, quartertone piano
Eero Saunamäki, recorder

The Chamber Orchestra Avanti! has been a trend-setter in Finnish musical life since its founding over three decades ago. In their PianoEspoo performance, the ensemble offers two world-premieres: a recorder concerto by Jukka Tiensuu featuring Eero Saunamäki as soloist, and a concerto by Sampo Haapamäki for quartertone piano. The soloist Elisa Järvi has worked for several years with the composer to develop an innovative new keyboard instrument to accommodate Haapamäki’s expanding sonic vistas.

Charles De Lusse: 
Air à la Grecque (1760)
Jukka Tiensuu: Recorder concerto // new work
Sampo Haapamäki: Piano concerto forquartertone piano  // new work

Concert is a part of PianoEspoo Festival 3.–19.11.2017.

Tickets from Lippupiste, including the service fees. Buy tickets here.
Normal price 33,50 €
Pensioners 27,50 €
Students, unemployed, servicemen, children 17,50 €

The Sibelius Fund of the Society of Finnish Composers appropriated Avanti! a grant for commissioning Sampo Haapamäki’s composition. These Successors of Sibelius grants were awarded to the member orchestras of the Association of Finnish Symphony Orchestras for commissioning a composition from a member of the Society of Finnish Composers. All these new pieces of music will be premièred during the centenary year of independent Finland, 2017.