Taite ry & Avanti!: Neijonnälkä 29.9.–1.10.2017

Fantastic music and powerful operatic narrative!
The opera company Taite ry and Avanti! Chamber Orchestra will perform two operas by Väinö Raitio in the stage of Almi Hall: Väinämöisen kosinta (Väinämöinen’s wooing) will be orchestrated for the first time ever, while Lyydian kuningas (The King of Lydia) is a rarely seen gem of Finnish opera. The performance will also include extracts from Raitio’s incidental music to the play Asaria. This is an evening of memorable combination of fantastic music and imposing drama.


Annami Hylkilä, soprano
Juha Hostikka, baritone
Markus Nieminen, baritone
Ilkka Hämäläinen, tenor
Anu Hostikka, soprano
Tanja Kauppinen-Savijoki, soprano
Riikka Rantanen, mezzo-soprano

Performances at the Finnish National Opera Alminsali:
Fri Sept 29th 2017 at 6 pm Buy tickets
Sat Sept 30th 2017 at 6 pm Buy tickets
Sun Oct 1st 2017 at 3 pm Buy tickets
Duration approx. 1 h 15 mins, no intermission

Ticket prices, including the service fees:
Normal 36 € / pensioners 32 € / unemployed and students 18 €
Buy tickets here

Music: Väinö Raitio
Sets and costumes: Mark Väisänen
Text: Eino Leino
Conductor: Tuomas Hannikainen
Director: Johanna Freundlich

Ultra-chromaticism at the House of Nobility 6.11.2017

Monday 6th of November 2017 at 6 pm
Ritarihuone/The House of Nobility, Ritarikatu 1, Helsinki
Tomas Djupsjöbacka, conductor
Elisa Järvi, quartertone piano
Eero Saunamäki, recorder

The Chamber Orchestra Avanti! has been a trend-setter in Finnish musical life since its founding over three decades ago. In their PianoEspoo performance, the ensemble offers two world-premieres: a recorder concerto by Jukka Tiensuu featuring Eero Saunamäki as soloist, and a concerto by Sampo Haapamäki for quartertone piano. The soloist Elisa Järvi has worked for several years with the composer to develop an innovative new keyboard instrument to accommodate Haapamäki’s expanding sonic vistas.

Charles De Lusse: 
Air à la Grecque (1760)
Jukka Tiensuu: Recorder concerto // new work
Sampo Haapamäki: Piano concerto forquartertone piano  // new work

Concert is a part of PianoEspoo Festival 3.–19.11.2017.

Tickets from Lippupiste, including the service fees. Buy tickets here.
Normal price 33,50 €
Pensioners 27,50 €
Students, unemployed, servicemen, children 17,50 €

The Sibelius Fund of the Society of Finnish Composers appropriated Avanti! a grant for commissioning Sampo Haapamäki’s composition. These Successors of Sibelius grants were awarded to the member orchestras of the Association of Finnish Symphony Orchestras for commissioning a composition from a member of the Society of Finnish Composers. All these new pieces of music will be premièred during the centenary year of independent Finland, 2017.